Charley Chalk; or, the Career of an Artist: Being Sketches from Real Life; Comprising a Narrative of his Extraordinary Adventures in Great Britain and Ireland, France and Greece. With Illustrations by Jacob Parallel [pseud]. ANONYMOUS.
Charley Chalk; or, the Career of an Artist: Being Sketches from Real Life; Comprising a Narrative of his Extraordinary Adventures in Great Britain and Ireland, France and Greece. With Illustrations by Jacob Parallel [pseud].

Charley Chalk; or, the Career of an Artist: Being Sketches from Real Life; Comprising a Narrative of his Extraordinary Adventures in Great Britain and Ireland, France and Greece. With Illustrations by Jacob Parallel [pseud].

Publisher: London: G. Berger, n.d. [but circa 1840].
Edition: First edition.
Bibliographical References: Block, English Novel, page 39; not in Wolff.
Condition: Edges rubbed; very good copy.
Book ID: 19738

Description

8vo, modern red half morocco by Zaehnsdorf, marbled sides, gilt decorated and lettered spine, t.e.g., others untrimmed. Frontis, engraved title and 18 plates.

Comments

A typical Victorian picaresque novel, in the vein of Dickens and Thackeray, written under the guise of a memoir by an artist who recounts his travails as advice to young and future artists. Nothing is immediately recorded about the author and little is known about the pseudonymous illustrator Jacob Parallel, other than that he did a separate suite of plates for Master Humphrey's Clock (see Gimbell H-1139), also published by Berger in 1841. F. G. Kitton, in Dickens and his Illustrators, writes that Parallel's work was highly regarded and that among the critics Charley Chalk ranked with Pickwick.

Price: $275.00

See all items by