The Last Night of Pompeii; A Poem: And Lays and Legends. SUMNER LINCOLN FAIRFIELD.

The Last Night of Pompeii; A Poem: And Lays and Legends.

Publisher: New York: Printed by Elliott and Palmer, 1832.
Edition: First edition.
Bibliographical References: BAL 5593; Wright I, 926.
Condition: A good, sound copy.
Book ID: 15734

Description

8vo, original rose-colored cloth (faded and worn), printed paper label.

Comments

A long poem on Pompeii which Fairfield, the poet, teacher and editor, steadfastly maintained Bulwer-Lytton plagiarized in his famous novel; and an interesting, engaging novella, Walter Colebrooke - A Tale, very much in the vein of Hawthorne and Poe.

Price: $175.00